cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

R5 Overheats Taking Video

kentinada
Contributor

I know there is a lot of discussion about the R5 overheating in video mode but I just tried my first test of taking stills and video at my grandson's soccer game today. The 2nd half was barely underway and I was already getting overheating warnings.  I captured a total of 9 min 55 sec of 4k video with these settings: 

• Movie Rec Quality: 4k-D, 29.97P, ALL-I
  • 4k HQ Mode: Enable
  • Canon Log; Off

Can I really only expect less than 10 minutes of record time before the camera overheats?  I am a novice at videography with this camera.  I watched a 25 min YouTube video on how to set this up best for videography and I followed those instructions.  I'm confused.  Any help would be appreciated. 

9 REPLIES 9

shadowsports
Legend
Legend

Greetings,

Please start by telling us what firmware you are running on your camera.  Also note that using the camera in warmer climates, direct sunlight and for extended periods while previewing without capturing video also contributes to heat build up.      

~Rick
Bay Area - CA

~R5 C (1.0.6.1) ~RF Trinity, ~RF 100 Macro, ~RF 100~400, ~RF 100~500, +RF 1.4x TC, +Canon Control Ring, BG-R10, 430EX III-RT ~DxO PhotoLab Elite ~DaVinci Resolve ~Windows11 Pro ~ImageClass MF644Cdw/MF656Cdw ~Pixel 8
~CarePaks Are Worth It

kentinada
Contributor

Firmware 1.8.1

wq9nsc
Authority
Authority

Rick is spot on about heat management.

Ambient temperature has a big impact and direct sunlight greatly amplifies that affect.  Providing shade for the camera will help manage thermal gain.  But better "still" cameras are designed with some weather sealing and that creates a major heat management issue.