cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

R5 Blurred photos

JulCus
Contributor

I've had my R5 for several months, and most of my photos are soft/blurry.  Even photos that I think are sharp, when I look at them with Photoshop, I can see that they aren't.   I have a 5DMkIV and 7DMkII that I have been using at the same time to compare images--they both do a better job getting sharp photos than the R5--even when I look at them with photoshop.  I have read a lot about problems with the R5--I have changed the back button focusing setting (released from shutter) and set eye-focus to the star button.  I shoot with the 100-500mm lens on the R5, and the 100-400LmmII lens on my 5DMkIV (often with the 1.4 teleconverter), and I shoot handheld.  I'm an experienced nature photographer, and I have been shooting handheld in the field for more than 6 years.  It seems to me that if the R5 has in camera image stabilization, and my lens has IS, then I should have sharper photos with the R5+100-500L lens.  Is there something I am missing??  I have also updated to the latest firmware on the R5, and my lens is also updated to the latest firmware.  I have had other issues with the camera as well--some seem to be resolved or at least happen less often after updating the firmware to 1.5.2.  I have had the camera freeze up and had to removed the battery to get it to work.   This has been very discouraging and disappointing.  I am at the point of sending my camera to Canon to have it checked out--please advise.

9 REPLIES 9

jaewoosong
Rising Star
Rising Star