cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need recommendations for beginner camera and lens for bird photography

keenanbare
Apprentice

I'm totally new to photography and want to get a camera that I can use mostly for bird photography and for taking pictures during duck hunting of me, my dad, the birds we harvest, pictures of that sort. I may also dabble in some short video and casual pictures with friends, but would mostly be using the camera for bird photography and taking pictures during hunting.

I just recently purchased the Canon M50 Mark II, but am thinking about returning it. I have recently read some forums that it may not work well with telephoto lenses due to it's small/fragile size and build. Also, it seems that Canon is going away from the EF-M mount and towards the RF mount. I've read some forums that have recommended the R10 and R7, and that's currently what I have my eye on. I want something that I can grow into and with.

My price range is flexible, but would say that the upper limit is $2,000 (camera and lens included). Would be willing to go a bit higher if it's worth it.

58 REPLIES 58

There are numerous advantages to the R50 over the M50 to include:

• DIGIC X vs DIGIC 8 processor.
  • Faster shutter (1/8000s vs 1/4000s)
  • Faster sync speed (1/250s vs 1/200s)
  • Dual band WiFi

RF lenses have control rings which can be very useful.

--
Ricky

Camera: EOS 5D IV, EF 50mm f/1.2L, EF 135mm f/2L
Lighting: Profoto Lights & Modifiers

Those are nice features, to be sure, and I would expect such improvements over the time that has elapsed since the M50 was last updated, but not having them is probably not a show-stopper for the vast majority of people at the low end of the ILC market.

Kevin Rahe
EOS M50 Mark II

EOS M/ EF-M is now limited in features now. It can't keep up with EOS R series now since the bodies are outdated. Even for low light photography those cameras struggle big time.

-Demetrius