cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need Recommendations: SL3 or T6I

Brianna_G
Apprentice

I currently have an Olympus SP-610UZ. I am looking to upgrade my camera for nature and wildlife photography. (as well as casual use but I will mainly use it for nature and wildlife) I was going to just purchase the T6I but I saw the SL3 is similar when it comes to the price. The T7I is not an option for me unfortunately because I don't have 200 extra dollars. The SL3 has some better features but the T6I has more AF points so I'm kind of at a loss. I'm fairly new to photography so I appreciate any information anyone can give me.

Thanks!

15 REPLIES 15

@Brianna_G wrote:

I currently have an Olympus SP-610UZ. I am looking to upgrade my camera for nature and wildlife photography. (as well as casual use but I will mainly use it for nature and wildlife) I was going to just purchase the T6I but I saw the SL3 is similar when it comes to the price. The T7I is not an option for me unfortunately because I don't have 200 extra dollars. The SL3 has some better features but the T6I has more AF points so I'm kind of at a loss. I'm fairly new to photography so I appreciate any information anyone can give me.

Thanks!

If I'm not mistaken, the target cohort for the SL seres is users who put a strong emphasis on small size and light weight (e.g., street photographers trying to be inconspicuous). For wildlife photography, I'd think that the extra AF points would be more worthwhile. Having used neither camera, I'd suppose that the T6i would be the better choice.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Brianna_G
Apprentice
That makes sense, thank you!

What lens do you plan to use with your new DSLR?

Your Olympus SP-610UZ has an equivalent focal length zoom range of 28-616mm.  If you want a similar zoom range with a DSLR, you will need a lens capable of approximately 400mm.

If you just use the 55-250mm zoom lens, you will probably be disappointed.