cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Looking for low light/nightclub photography upgrade advice.

silva88
Apprentice

So I currently own a EOS R7 with a RF24-70 2.8. I started shooting for the night club I work at and my R7 is struggling a little bit. I usually have to push my ISO between 4000-6400 at a 2.8 aperture.

I was originally going to get a flash for when I needed to shoot stills, however the flash I was looking into seems like it was delayed ( EL-5 ). My second thought was to sell my R7 and get an R5 or R6 II.

The R5 should be getting a revamp in the next year or so, so that seems like a bad investment. As for the R6 II, I'm not sure if it'll be worth it coming from my R7.

Any advice?

6 REPLIES 6

rs-eos
Elite

While a newer body may lead to better ISO performance (I have not tested at all with any of Canon's R-series cameras, so I would only make a guess that moving from an EOS R7 to say an EOS R5 may lead to one perhaps two stops of better performance).

Double-check that you can add flash to the venue.  That can definitely be distracting and/or not be allowed.  If allowed, do consider using the flash units at lower power to be less distracting.  Multiple flashes here can definitely help.

If adding light isn't allowed, I'd strongly recommend looking at lenses with wider apertures.   While they wouldn't be zoom lenses, their maximum aperture would let in much more light.

e.g. an RF 135 mm f/1.8 (perhaps a bit too long?) would give you a bit over twice the light gathering.  So could lower ISO by a bit over one stop.

an RF 50 mm f/1.2 would give you over four times the light gathering.  So ISO can be lowered by over two stops.

--
Ricky

Camera: EOS 5D IV, EF 50mm f/1.2L, EF 135mm f/2L
Lighting: Profoto Lights & Modifiers

jrhoffman75
Legend
Legend

@silva88 wrote: