cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Issues With EOS 70D (sharpness and focus)?

trichomechaser
Apprentice

I've been shooting on the same 70D for quite a few years now, and while I was very happy with it in the initial years, I'm starting to see issues with image quality and focus, and wondering if this is something anyone else had run into and whether I should start considering having to replace it (not an easy prospect).

I started noticing issues with birding where a large number of shots would come out not focusing correctly and just looking a bit soft. Figuring this was a lens issue I had my girlfriend test it on her much cheaper 600D and found that the results were much better in general to what I was getting from my 70D.

One of the most noticeable aspects was a seeming lack of contrast and chromatic aberration as well (not lens-related since it occurs only on my body and not the 600D I'm testing)

I then started seeing the same image issues in controlled tests where I have both cameras using the same camera settings and the same light and subject/distance.

Below is a sample of both cameras using the same exact conditions, the 600D seems to be close to the 70D on sharpness but the contrast is noticeably better, specifically when one looks at the measurement lines coming down vertically, you can see my 70D has a softness and dullness to the darker tones as well (assuming it's not monitor related)...

Settings: On A Tripod with 2 second timer, 0.3 second exposure, ISO 200, F5.6 using a Canon 100mm 2.8 Macro

70d vs 600d.jpg

And then an additional image to show what I mean in a more real world setting. This bird was shot using ISO 800, f5.6 and 1/200 second exposure (handheld, but still) with a Canon 400mm 5.6 and shows a lack of definition in the features and eye which is easily noticeable. One will also see that none of the foliage around the bird looks any better, so I don't think it's a front/back focusing issue.