cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help me - I am new to photograph really.

SunlitComet
Contributor

I would like to thank you all in advance in helping with this long list of questions. I really don't know a better way of asking for your help. Super appreciated.Smiley Happy

So I decided after about a year or so to take the plunge into photography to document work I do on machines. I got myself a canon 7d w/ 28-135 lens and a speedlite 430x2. I am really new to this stuff so there are questions I will have.

First, one is these  two shots I took. Why is the dark vertical area on two of my three cats of my cats seem I think noisy is the word or grainy or mattish. Not really sure of the correct wording. Saw the same thing when using a cheap $ 110 Sanyo point and shoot on my suv engine or the interior.

http://www.sunlitcomet.com/images/animals/IMGL8422.JPG

http://www.sunlitcomet.com/images/animals/IMGL8440.JPG

Second, I always have the camera do raw and jpeg. Why do some file names start with IMGL, IMG_L,  _mgl and so forth?

Third, on this photo I had what appears to be chromatic aberration all over. Corrected it in PS5 but can the camera do that itself?

http://www.sunlitcomet.com/images/aviation/IMG_7768.JPG

Forth, I really want the photos to look good so I suspect it would be a good idea to learn about PS5. SHould I just work with the raw files to make final jpeg to do printing and stuff?

Fifth, I would like something better then Photobucket to view the Hi-res details in photos is there a sit that is inexpensive that can do a better job or am I better off changing by web site hosting to unlimited storage setup and just build a site page to accommodate it? I don't mind spending a $100 a year for such a thing.