Did you mean: 

Good zoom lens for 60d

Donnawr
Contributor
60D
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

hsbn
Whiz
It's a pretty general question. You need to indicate the zoom range, your budget, etc.
Canon wise, 16-35 F2.8L II, 24-70 F2.8L II, 70-200 F2.8L II. Those are the best Canon zoom from 16mm to 200mm.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Weekend Travelers Blog | Eastern Sierra Fall Color Guide

View solution in original post

26 REPLIES 26

hsbn
Whiz
It's a pretty general question. You need to indicate the zoom range, your budget, etc.
Canon wise, 16-35 F2.8L II, 24-70 F2.8L II, 70-200 F2.8L II. Those are the best Canon zoom from 16mm to 200mm.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

You forgot the EF-S 10-22mm, it is a ultra wide angle lens, and will fit the 60d with no problem.

Need good zoom for taking wildlife/landscape I'm pretty new at this so I don't want to spend a billion dollars since I'm just starting out. I would like 300 zoom at least. Thx for quick reply

In order of price, Canon 70-300 IS, 70-300 L IS, 100-400 L IS and although I don't know much about it I've read some very good reports on a Tamron 70-300 with their version of IS.

"A skill is developed through constant practice with a passion to improve, not bought."

Thx. So many choices I don't want to have buyers remorse especially since I'm a novice!!

I would look for a "Super Zoom" by a third party manufacturer.  Pretty good summary here:

http://www.techradar.com/us/news/photography-video-capture/cameras/best-superzoom-for-canon-dslrs-8-...

I'm assuming by 'a billion dollars' you actually mean quite a bit less, like sub $1000?.  There a much better lenses than those in the above article, but they start in the thousands.  The 100-400 is a solid lens with good range, but it's around $1500.