cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Entry-Level DSLR Cameras for Broadcast Journalism and Multimedia Journalism

umdterps2020
Contributor
I have been taking photos on my smartphone for quite some time since 2011, and I am considering to buy my own camera. I am interested in buying an entry-level DSLR. I want to be able to take photo stills and shoot video. I am currently a student in college majoring in broadcast journalism. I intend to pursue a career in broadcast journalism where I must utilize all forms of multimedia journalism (photo/audio/video). I am taking an intro to multimedia storytelling course were I am learning the basics and how to use editing software (i.e: Photoshop, Adobe Auditions, Final Cut and Premiere Pro). I am looking for an entry-level DSLR to use for multimedia journalism purposes for my career and also for everyday use. This will be my first time buying a DSLR, and I have no experience with that type of camera. I am a novice. I do want to learn how to use a DSLR. I am looking for one that has a manual and a video tutorial. I am also looking for an affordable DSLR (I have a limited budget. So, I cannot afford anything towards $1,000 or more), but can still do the same things on other cameras like the D800, Mark II & III, and the K-3. What entry-level DSLR camera would be right for me and for those that are entering broadcast journalism and multimedia journalism?

14 REPLIES 14

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

Here you go. Made just for the exact requirements you have stated. The Canon Rebel T5i with lens kit.

Rebel T5i at B&H  <----click me

Rebel T5i at Adorama <--- click me

Later as you grow and learn you will want to upgrade to the Canon 5D Mk III or even the 1D x.  Both are several thousand dollars and the best there is in the industry. But for right now the Rebel T5i is a very capable outfit and will serve you well for less than your $1000 dollar budget. Smiley Happy

EB