cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS Rebel T7 freezing up repeatedly

mjstory76
Apprentice

Good morning,

I am a high school photojournalism teacher and recently purchased 2 Rebel T7 cameras for my class. I have my own version of the camera as well that I purchased about 2 years ago and have never had any problems. Within a two-week period, all 3 of my cameras have suddenly started freezing in the middle of shots. The only solution that works is to remove my battery, but it starts in again within the first 5-6 pictures. These cameras all have different memory cards and lenses and the locations have been both indoors and outdoors with the same results. The only common thing I can figure is that we shoot in manual for everything. While I could get on board with the two newest cameras maybe having a default, the fact that my personal camera that was not purchased at the same time started doing the same thing is making this harder. I've cleaned the cameras and cleared all settings but again, it starts taking pictures good but after about 10, it will shut down and freeze up. The batteries are what came with the cameras, so they're not even 2 months old. Any suggestions?

3 REPLIES 3

jrhoffman75
Legend
Legend

Give Canon a call at 1-800-OK-CANON.

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, Pixma TR8620a, LR Classic

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

"The only common thing I can figure is that we shoot in manual for everything."

Ok, this can be a problem to sort out. The fact you guys have nothing in common isn't helping. So the first thing to do is make sure you are all doing the exact same things. Make sure all batteries are fully charged. Charger could be the problem. Use the same SD brand and size in each T7. Low level format them in the camera.