cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS RP brightness changes when video recording

Pi99yMags
Apprentice

I just started using a professional camera like this, I've had no prior experience and the main purpose of the camera is to record cooking videos. I've watched a few YouYube tutorials for beginners and have the video settings to this on the main page. Yesterday when I was recording I noticed that the brightness was shifting when a white bowl was placed on the dark cutting board. It looked like it was trying to adjust between the dark brown cutting board with the white bowl. Is there a way to stop the brightness from changing when shooting a video? IMG_0966.jpg

7 REPLIES 7

rs-eos
Elite
Elite

You're going to want to be in full manual.  It appears you have ISO set to auto.

A DSLR or mirrorless camera (for photos and video) will attempt to adjust exposure for the scene so that it will end up being middle gray.  If the scene is mostly dark, the camera will adjust exposure to compensate.  When the scene is mostly light, the camera will then adjust exposure to compensate.

Having said all that, if you're just beginning, you may want to first get familiar with taking photos in the various modes first.

Also, using equipment designed more for photos are not ideal for video.  There are often numerous limitations to include a maximum of 30 mins recording time for continuous clips.   Depending upon the length of videos you need to capture, you may be far better off with a dedicated camcorder or cinema camera.

--
Ricky

Camera: EOS 5D IV, EF 50mm f/1.2L, EF 135mm f/2L
Lighting: Profoto Lights & Modifiers

What is the ideal ISO setting you would recommend? I tried setting it to 100 but I couldn't see anything through the lens, it was very dark. At 6400 was finally matching the brightness on the auto. Also, it was in a dark room with two softboxes.