cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS R7 Single Point AF

oliveJar
Contributor

Hello, I am a bird photographer. I just purchased an EOS R7 and like the subject tracking and eye detection AF. In my old EOS 80D I had the option to pick a single point and the camera would focus on that point only. I sometimes need this capability while photographing a single bird out of a flock. Is this sort of capability available on the R7? I cannot seem to find it.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

oliveJar
Contributor

Thank you everyone for the replies.

I got the camera set up the way i want.  I was able to get it to focus on a single bird or use eye tracking as desired.

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10

jrhoffman75
Legend
Legend

You need to turn tracking off.

Screenshot 2022-11-30 193737.jpg

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, Pixma TR8620a, LR Classic

I forgot to mention that I have have tracking and eye detect turned off by default and have set up buttons to enable/disable them. This doesn't seem to help.

Not sure I understand. Are you saying you can't select Single Point AF?

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

I have Single Point AF selected with tracking off but the camera still moves to other subjects.

You could give Canon a call at 1-800-OK-CANON

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

@oliveJarwrote:

Hello, I am a bird photographer. I just purchased an EOS R7 and like the subject tracking and eye detection AF. In my old EOS 80D I had the option to pick a single point and the camera would focus on that point only. I sometimes need this capability while photographing a single bird out of a flock. Is this sort of capability available on the R7? I cannot seem to find it.

It should work almost identically as the DSLR.

Just remember, once you select a single AF point it does not change or move around on its own.

--------------------------------------------------------