cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS R6 AF Issues - Can someone explain why Canons warranty is so bad?

Rileymon
Apprentice

After buying my EOS r6 two years ago I’ve always been disappointed with the autofocus. After comparing it to a friends who got one recently I came to the conclusion it might have come broken. After just $100 for shipping and presumably $200+ for the repair I find it astonishing canons warranty is only a year. The camera looks brand new, it’s clearly never been dropped and it’s having problems. This should without a doubt be covered and yet I’m SOL. I worked in the bike industry and we offered lifetime warranty’s for manufacture defects for LIFE on our frames that are much more expensive the the r6. Is there a reason I’m not seeing for this or is Canon really just that cheap? I thought going with the higher end brand I’d be taken care of if their product was faulty but guess not. 

2 REPLIES 2

Lotus7
Rising Star

Sorry your R6 is not performing as expected.

Unfortunately, modern high-tech devices jam-packed full of complex integrated circuits and micro mechanical motors and actuators are just a little more complex than even the highest-tech carbon fiber, titanium, cromoly-steel or 6061 aluminum bike frame. 

Today, the industry standard warranty among the "big-three" mirrorless and DSLR camera manufacturers (Canon, Nikon & Sony) is one-year  (limited).  Ricoh/Pentax &  Fuji also provide one-year warrantees.  Leica does offer a two-year warranty (with a long list of limitations including "normal use wear"), but obviously has some repair insurance coverage built into their initial price structure, as does Hasselblad with it's two-year warranty. If you can justify paying Leica or Hasselblad prices you get two-years, but that does not imply those cameras are any more reliable than a Canon or Nikon.