cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS R5 mirrorless file size/quality issue?

jordaneraines
Contributor

I got myself an R5 within the last few months and was having a great time with it for the first month, but around mid-September I started having some issues with the quality of my photos. I am a college student and we have access to "rent" equipment and I frequently borrow (EF) lenses from there. The first time I noticed the issue I was using one of these so I thought that was the problem, because I am almost positive that they are hardly cleaned. I tried it out with my (EF) lens (I can't afford any RF lenses yet so I haven't been able to try that out) and am having the same issues. I talked to my professors and they aren't sure because we haven't had a lot of mirrorless instruction yet. The advice I got was to reset all my settings which I did, and this helped a tiny bit I think but it's still obvious and the quality looks like the file is significantly smaller than it is. I have all my settings set to RAW, and shoot at the lowest ISO possible. I also have a Canon brand lens mount (B&H). I am really trying to avoid sending my camera in to Canon because I need it for classes, so I am wondering if I can receive some help here. 

The main issue I am having is the image quality gets pixely and grainy when you zoom in, but it gets this way zooming in not very far if that makes sense. As in, I should be able to zoom in that far (and more) and not see any quality issues or noise. It seems like the file size is small, and I know it's not any of the software I upload to because I can see the poor quality in-camera as well. Here are some example photos. 

Thanks so much!