cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS R: Why use C Log3?

KonaLyman
Contributor

hello everyone - Im a newbie with my Canon R8. Can you point me to a discussion about C Log3. Why shoot in C Log3? So far, I don't see any value in this setting. The image is dark, grayish and muddy.  Then to fix that, the Canon LUT is required which in itself has about 50 different choices. All this just to being the image back to normal. Whereas I can shoot my Sony AX700, drop it in Premiere and good to go. The R8 requires extra steps to get the same results. I've followed all the You Tube tutorials. I have the same questions. What are the benefits of C Log3?

thank you.

8 REPLIES 8

jrhoffman75
Legend
Legend

https://www.canon-europe.com/pro/stories/enhance-filmmaking-with-canon-log/

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, Pixma TR8620a, LR Classic

thank you John. much appreciated.

AtticusLake
Mentor
Mentor

... I can shoot my Sony AX700, drop it in Premiere and good to go

Did you know, you can do that with the R8 too? Just turn log off. You can find out how on page 377 of the advanced user guide.

... the Canon LUT is required which in itself has about 50 different choices

Yeah, the number of LUTs they supply is pretty bewildering. However, the files are actually named sensibly... once you understand the code. Basically:

• Ignore 1dlut, it's obsilete -- use 3dlut
  • Prefer 65grid, unless you have some old kit that only supports 33grid or 17grid
  • "full-to-full-range" is the next option -- ???
  • then pick the LUT that fits your needs. Probably "CinemaGamut_CanonLog3-to-BT709_WideDR_65_FF_Ver.2.0", because you will be going from Log3 to BT709. If you were producing for BT2020, you'd know.

That should be it.

But the bottom line for shooting log is if you don't know why you need it, then you don't need it.