cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS M50 Mark II Adapter for RF Telephoto Lens

jess_well12
Apprentice

Hello, I currently own the eos m50 mark ii camera. I am looking to add a telephoto lens to my collection that is reasonably priced as I am a beginner. I plan to use it for both wildlife videos and pictures. I have been looking into the rf 100-400mm f/5.6-8 is usm lens and was wondering if there was an adaptor that would allow that lens to attach to my canon eos m50 mark ii camera. Thank you in advanced for any suggestions and advice!

5 REPLIES 5

MikeSowsun
Authority
Authority

RF lenses can not be adapted to EOS M bodies. You will need to buy EF-M mount lenses or use a suitable adapter with either EF mount or EF-S mount lenses. 

Telephoto lenses can be expensive. For a “reasonably priced” option, I would recommend the EF-S 55-250 STM with an adapter.   https://www.usa.canon.com/shop/p/ef-s-55-250mm-f-4-5-6-is-stm?color=Black&type=New 

Mike Sowsun

Hi Mike, may I have the model number of the adapter can use for EOS M to RF lens? 

There is no such adapter to mount RF lenses to M-series cameras. It’s not possible to exist.

--
Ricky

Camera: EOS 5D IV, EF 50mm f/1.2L, EF 135mm f/2L
Lighting: Profoto Lights & Modifiers

amfoto1
Authority

Mike's suggestion of the EF-S 55-250mm lens is a good one.

For a little more money Canon EF 70-300mm IS USM (either the original or the II version) also would be good. https://www.usa.canon.com/shop/p/refurbished-ef-70-300mm-f-4-5-6-is-ii-usm 

Or, for considerably more money Canon EF 100-400mm L IS USM (either version) would be great for wildlife. https://www.usa.canon.com/shop/p/refurbished-ef-100-400mm-f4-5-5-6l-is-ii-usm But as rather large, heavy lenses (approx. 3.25 to 3.5 lb.) will feel pretty awkward on a small camera like an M50. Both the 55-250mm and 70-300s are quite a bit smaller and lighter, so would be a lot more comfortable on an M50.