cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS 7D Mark II Sigma Lens compatibility?

Kelevdel
Apprentice

I’m just a self taught mom who likes to take photos and I need help.  I have a Canon 7dii and recently bought a used sigma 50-15mm f2.8. 
however, upon unboxing and attaching to my camera, I found that it doesn’t seem to work. The camera light on back flashes and the lcd displays remains black. It makes a noise as well. 
is this lens incompatible of do i need an adapter?

please help?

7 REPLIES 7

rs-eos
Elite
Elite

Do you know what specific mount you purchased with the Sigma 50-150 f/2.8 lens? You'd need the EF mount (Sigma part # 00-85126-69254-4).  It also comes in two other mounts (Nikon F and Sigma SA).

--
Ricky

Camera: EOS 5D IV, EF 50mm f/1.2L, EF 135mm f/2L
Lighting: Profoto Lights & Modifiers

Kelevdel
Apprentice

I feel dumb. I don’t have a mount for it. I did get it to attach properly and can now take photos but it makes a funny noise? 

Greetings,

Questions are good.  Please don't feel dumb 😊  What Ricky was saying.  Sigma makes 3 versions of the same lens.  One for Canon, One for Nikon and one for their own cameras.  You need the Canon EF version of the lens.  This is the one which "fits" your camera.  No special mount or adapter is needed.

Buying used gear can be great, or not good if someone has not been honest or truthful about the condition or function of their product.  Did you buy something from a private party, eBay, etc?  Is it returnable.  Tell us more about the noise?     

~Rick
Bay Area - CA

~R5 C (1.0.6.1) ~RF Trinity, ~RF 100 Macro, ~RF 100~400, ~RF 100~500, +RF 1.4x TC, +Canon Control Ring, BG-R10, 430EX III-RT ~DxO PhotoLab Elite ~DaVinci Resolve ~Windows11 Pro ~ImageClass MF644Cdw/MF656Cdw ~Pixel 8
~CarePaks Are Worth It