cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS 6D Lack of Sharpness

RobRich
Contributor

I am a novice but I notice my 6D images aren’t as sharp as my old EOS Rebel XSi. I’ve tried different lenses, tripods, etc. the image in the view finder even looks sharper to me. Has anyone noticed this before?Rebel xsiRebel xsi6d6d

17 REPLIES 17

shadowsports
Legend
Legend

Greetings,

If you'd like us to evaluate your images, please post a link with RAW files uploaded to a sharing service such as OneDrive, DropBox, Google Drive, etc.  We'd be happy to take a look.

Thanks in advance.

~Rick
Bay Area - CA

~R5 C (1.0.6.1) ~RF Trinity, ~RF 100 Macro, ~RF 100~400, ~RF 100~500, +RF 1.4x TC, +Canon Control Ring, BG-R10, 430EX III-RT ~DxO PhotoLab Elite ~DaVinci Resolve ~Windows11 Pro ~ImageClass MF644Cdw/MF656Cdw ~Pixel 8
~CarePaks Are Worth It

I am only shooting in JPEG mode. Here is a link to 2 photos. https://www.dropbox.com/scl/fo/2eqh42ro1lb60thod6lkq/h?rlkey=nkufmnh73tmplwvk8uvlz1y0n&dl=0

rs-eos
Elite
Elite

What lens are you using?

Did you have any adjustments (e.g. added sharpness) being done on the Rebel XSi? Do you have those same adjustments on the EOS 6D?

--
Ricky

Camera: EOS 5D IV, EF 50mm f/1.2L, EF 135mm f/2L
Lighting: Profoto Lights & Modifiers

I will have to look at my settings. I don't think I have any additional settings on either camera that would affect sharpness. As mentioned (not sure if it's my imagination) but the focus on the Rebel seems more exact when shooting the picture. The lens grabs the subject and it looks sharp in the view finder. The 6D doesn't have the same feeling. I thought I needed to adjust the viewfinder dioptrics but that didn't help.

What lens?

--
Ricky

Camera: EOS 5D IV, EF 50mm f/1.2L, EF 135mm f/2L
Lighting: Profoto Lights & Modifiers

On the 6D I was using a 70-300 EF lens. On Rebel I was using a 55-250 EF-S