cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dull Images on 600D and Speedlite Question

Brian205
Contributor

a) I got a used Canon 600D.

When I take pictures with it. The Images on the Camera Screen have High Contrast.  When I downloaded and save the Images on my Computer. the Images are Low Contrast, Dull Images.. ... I have to adjust increase the Picture Style Contrast on the Camera to make a a Bit better.

why is this ?

I use a Transcend 4G Card which came with the Camera.

is this because its a Old or Used Camera or the Card is not so good ?

-----------------------

b) Is the Yongnuo YN 560 IV the Best Value Speedlite.

I am doing to buy one for my 600d

I am a Hobbyist 🙂

-------------

21 REPLIES 21

@Brian205 wrote:

Here is another. seems to lack contrast 🙂IMG_0265 - Copy.JPG

It does seem to lack contrast, but you have to see it from the camera's point of view. If it simply added more contrast, the highlight in the cloud would get brighter, but the foreground would probably get even darker. IMO, the biggest problem is in the exposure level. Most of the picture is too dark, but the camera is trying to avoid a blown highlight. You could tell some cameras to meter on a selected autofocus point, but I doubt the 600D supports that. What you could try is changing the metering mode from evaluative (the default) to center-weighted averaging. Since the center of the picture is dark, the change in metering should increase the exposure somewhat. If that doesn't work, you could apply, say, a half stop of exposure compensation. Or shoot in RAW mode and brighten the picture in post-processing.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

It's not that it lacks contrast... the camera nailed the shot.  Let me show you the histogram for this image:

Histogram

You'll need to know what a histogram is.  Here are a couple of good articles:

http://www.luminous-landscape.com/tutorials/understanding-series/understanding-histograms.shtml