cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon Rebel T6 EOS 1300 D Beginner - Need Help troubleshooting

mdutoit
Apprentice

Hi All,

I am just getting into photography after having taken some classes 10+ years ago. I just purchased a Canon Rebel T6 EOS 1300 D and I am having some issues. When I go to capture a picture, in any mode, I get a 'Busy' error pop up and the picture does not take. I've combed through the user manual and can't find anywhere where this is addressed.

Has anyone experienced this issue and know how to resolve?

Any feedback is greatly appreciated!

7 REPLIES 7

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

@mdutoit wrote:

Hi All,

I am just getting into photography after having taken some classes 10+ years ago. I just purchased a Canon Rebel T6 EOS 1300 D and I am having some issues. When I go to capture a picture, in any mode, I get a 'Busy' error pop up and the picture does not take. I've combed through the user manual and can't find anywhere where this is addressed.

Has anyone experienced this issue and know how to resolve?

Any feedback is greatly appreciated!

1). What is the brand, size, and type of memory card that you are using?  Do not use microSD cards with adapters, just full size cards.

2). Did you perform a low level format on the memory card before you tried to use it?  New cards should always be scrubbed clean before first use.

3). What shooting mode are you using?  If you are just starting out, use the Green [A] to familiarize yourself with the lenses.  Use the P shooting mode to familiarize yourself with the camera’s features.

The “buSY” message usually means the camera is writing to the card, or at least attempting to.  Some of the Noise Reduction settings can cause the camera to take a moment or two to finish writing to the memory card.  Shooting in “continuous drive” mode can fill the buffer, causing the camera to take a timeout to empty its’ buffer before it resumes shooting.