cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon Rebel SL3 not taking pictures

bocatovictor
Apprentice

Hey guys, I'm a beginner and still studying how to use my camera and because of it can't figure out what I have done wrong.

Since I recharged the battery, the camera just doesn't take any pictures anymore, it just do everything, but when I press the button, instead of taking a picture It just show some red lines where it was focusing and both keeping the button pressed or releasing it just don't take a picture anymore.

I haven't found a tutorial about this hapening so, I decided to try to find help here since I still studying and barely know stuff.

Thanks.

5 REPLIES 5

deebatman316
Authority
Authority

Set the camera to "P" Mode on the mode dial and reset the camera back to factory default. 

-Demetrius

Current Gear: EOS 5D Mark IV, EF F/2.8 Trinity, EF 50mm F/1.8 STM, EF 85mm F/1.8 USM, 470EX-AI & 600EX II-RT

Retired Gear: EOS 40D

amfoto1
Authority

If you're "seeing red lines" (little red "boxes"), it sounds as if the camera is trying to focus and preventing the shutter from release until focus is achieved... and for some reason it's not able to achieve focus. Perhaps the lens is set to manual focus? Or perhaps it isn't fully latched onto the camera? Or???

What lens are you using? Do you have any additional lenses you could try?

Another possibility, maybe you are just trying to focus too close... closer than the lens is able. That would also prevent focus from being achieved, which in turn might prevent the shutter from being released and an image from being made.

Alternatively, are you sure you're actually pressing the shutter release button? I don't have an SL3, but have various other Canon DSLRs and they all have a button that when pressed displays the current autofocus setup... as red lines for selected "groups" of AF points and small red box or boxes for selected AF points.