cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon R5 video file sizes + trouble downloading

calistay
Apprentice

Hi, I recently purchased a Canon R5 in the hopes that I would be able to get good quality slomo videos for sports. After using it for a week and trying to download the videos off my camera I ran into a problem. For some reason the file sizes are so large that I can't even get them onto my phone. I have a lexar adapter for my cf express card and whenever i try to airdrop the videos from finder on my mac to my phone it gets stuck and forces the videos to go to files on my phone. I'm not sure why this is happening but I was hoping someone could help me with this. I am by no means a professional photographer so any input would be appreciated.

Thank you,

Calista

5 REPLIES 5

AtticusLake
Mentor
Mentor

Your R5 can certainly record very high quality video.  However, the idea that you can drop these videos onto a computer and use them directly is a bit unrealistic.  And a phone, even more so.

If you shoot video on a compact camera, the assumption is that you want to double-click the videos and play them directly.  As a result -- and also for general cheapness -- the camera will record at a pretty low bit-rate, resulting in small files.  The videos will have mediocre quality, but wll play easily.

When you invest in a better camera -- like the R5 -- the assumption is that you're going to edit your videos before publishing.  The camera records at a much higher bit-rate, and the files are huge.  In general, you can not play these directly on your computer.  When I try to play even MP4 files off my R5C, the video jerks forward a couple of times then freezes.  The idea is that you edit your clips and then export at a much lower bit-rate.  Because your computer isn't encoding in real time, it can produce a decent quality in a much smaller file.

The solution is one of these: