cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cameras for high school photo program - recommendations needed

Bryanstough
Apprentice

Hello,

I am a high school teacher building a photo program from scratch. Does anyone have any recommendations of what would be a good setup to purchase for students that would last for years to come.  Something that can shoot both video and stills.  I’m interested in the R series moving forward.  Maybe the R10.  I even thought about the M series. Budget will come into play.  I have large classes around 25 students.  I though about starting with 5 bodies that students can sign out week by week.   Right now most students use cell phones.  Any teachers out in the community?

Thank you!

6 REPLIES 6

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

Your statement, "...a good setup to purchase for students that would last for years to come" makes the R series the only practical answer. Do not consider the M series, it is dead already. The current DSLR or EF series can be a good buy but again it is at life's end. However, it "would last for years to come"

My school, GEHS USD 231 uses Rebel cameras. But we bought them a few years ago. They have served us well. The kids are instructed on how to care for them thoroughly before they check the out.

_OS15400.jpg

I would opt for the new R series models of which the R10 is a good choice.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

jrhoffman75
Legend
Legend

If I was buying new for myself (so to speak) I agree with Ernie - the R10 is a good choice. New with a wide range kit zoom lens it is priced at almost $1400.