cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Camera recommendations for bird and landscape photography - EF mount

Icey_
Apprentice

Hey! I wanted to ask for some recommendation on what camera I should buy for bird photography and some landscape shots. I currently have a EOS T7 and am buying a Sigma 150-600c for it. I’ve been thinking of upgrading to a better camera. Something that’s not too expensive but that is good. I’m looking for one that has quick AF capabilities and a touchscreen that is moveable for easiest shots on a tripod

I’ve been looking at the 6D Mkii (keep in mind I’m quite new to this) and it seems like a good option. I’m looking to maybe buy them used so I don’t have to pay full price. Is this a good camera? Is it worth buying?

4 REPLIES 4

stevet1
Whiz
Whiz

Icey_,

This is just my personal opinion, but I think you can do better.

The 6D mkII only has a Digic 7 processor. You should shoot for a Digic 8 or Digic X

It only shoots at 6.5 frames per second max

It's heavy. It weighs 27 oz. That's 756 grams.

If it were me, I'd look into the T8i or 90D, or even move into the mirrorless world.

Steve Thomas

shadowsports
Legend
Legend

Greetings,

It might be worth your time to consider Canon Refurb.  This is a good way to stretch your dollar and get more camera or lens than you might have been able to new.  Canon refurb products come with the same 1 yr warranty as new.

The Sigma 150-600c is a great lens.  I still have mine, but its retired.  I also owned the 6D2 for 5 yrs.  Personally I would choose it over a T8i (also a good camera) for the following reasons.

Better native ISO (40,000 vs 25,800)

Built in GPS

Better battery performance  1200 vs 800 shots

Weather sealing

Both cameras are 45 AF Point focus systems.  The 6D2 will also use 1 point center AF at f8 with a TC.  The T8i is more limited depending on shooting conditions.