cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Beginner-- is this a good set-up?

uffie
Apprentice

Okay I say I'm a beginner but I've been at uni for three years studying film production and have played around with the Canon C300 A LOT but obviously there are major differences to the DSLRs...

Anyways, I've decided to purchase a Canon 5D m3 and the lenses that I've picked within my budget are:

70-200mm f/4.0 

50mm f/1.8

and the kit lens 24-105mm

I also own a Nikon 18-105mm that was for my old D90 so if I could find an adapter that would take that lens on the 5D, should I not bother with the kit lens and go for a 24mm instead?

I take stills occasionally but I think I'd mainly be using this camera for filming. Please help me out, I still feel like a total newbie when it comes to what lenses I should pick!

4 REPLIES 4

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

If it were me, ...

" 70-200mm f/4.0                                     Smiley Happy

50mm f/1.8                                               get the 50mm f1.4 better all around lens

and the kit lens 24-105mm "                     Smiley Happy

"... own a Nikon 18-105m ... if I could find an adapter ..."            Smiley Sad   Yes, do nix this idea.

"... not bother with the kit lens and go for a 24mm instead?"            I would prefer the 24-105mm f4L to a prime 24mm.

The EOS 5D Mk III is an excellent camera but remember it is a still DSLR.  Not a video camera.  However, it's abilities in video are fantastic and outstanding quality.  But it is not a C300.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

Thank you so much for your help!!

Haha ideally I'd love a video camera, especially ones that shoot RAW but DSLRs are easier when backpacking and stuff which is what I'm doing for the next year... I'm going to miss that C300!!