cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Back button focus on Canon R8 - Any significant advantages?

mmbrombe
Contributor

I am extremely pleased with the performance of my new Canon R8. I have started shooting wildlife and birds in flight with the RF 100-400mm, and am very happy with the results (I am not a pro, but a happy amateur). I have also been watching quite a few videos and reading articles describing the (alleged) advantages of back button focus for this kind of photography. I find the autofocus of my camera+lens incredibly fast and accurate, so I'm wondering if an amateur photographer like me would notice a significant improvement by switching to BBF. I already have quite a few buttons customized to my style, so I'd be losing some functionality. Any thoughts are appreciated, thanks!

6 REPLIES 6

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

Back Button Focus, BBF, does not improve AF performance or cause you to capture sharper images.  It is most often used to allow the photographer to acquire a subject more precisely for the AF system to track when using AI Servo or AF Servo modes..  

The most commonly used button for BBF has been the [AF-ON] button.  The only setup involved is removing AF from the Shutter Button.  The factory default behavior for [AF-ON] already turns on the AF system in the camera.  The Shutter will only enable Metering.

When I use BBF to track fast moving subjects such as sports or wildlife, I set up the [AF-ON] as [AF-OFF].  I have found it is easier to hand hold the camera without pressing two buttons with my right hand at the same time.  It reduces fatigue in my hands.  

Why do it that way?  I occasionally find need to “pause” the AF system should I lose tracking on my moving subject.  A quick tap of the [AF-OFF] button resets the AF point back to the center and I can quickly and easily reacquire my subject again.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."