cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Auto focus

patience
Apprentice
Hey
My friend has had his T3i camera for a couple of years and he wanted to get rid of and hasn’t used for a minute because it’s auto focus is not working. I took it off his hands. Now I don’t know anything about DSLRs or anything like that. But with the body he gave me a 50mm lense. I am trying to find any help or suggestions of what could be done to fix this. I am still learning about the device
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

wq9nsc
Authority
Authority

Make sure that the lens AF switch is on.  If AF isn't working, it would be an excellent idea to try another lens to rule out a lens issue before you worry about problems with the camera body itself.  He probably didn't buy the Canon EF-50 F1.4 with his T3 but that particular 50MM has a well known failure mode from even a fairly light impact to the front of the lens.

Rodger

EOS 1DX M3, 1DX M2, 1DX, 5DS R, M6 Mark II, 1D M2, EOS 650 (film), many lenses, XF400 video

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8

wq9nsc
Authority
Authority

Make sure that the lens AF switch is on.  If AF isn't working, it would be an excellent idea to try another lens to rule out a lens issue before you worry about problems with the camera body itself.  He probably didn't buy the Canon EF-50 F1.4 with his T3 but that particular 50MM has a well known failure mode from even a fairly light impact to the front of the lens.

Rodger

EOS 1DX M3, 1DX M2, 1DX, 5DS R, M6 Mark II, 1D M2, EOS 650 (film), many lenses, XF400 video

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

@patience wrote:
Hey