cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

6D Have I damaged my camera?

russman80
Apprentice

Hi, newbie here, sorry if i've posted in the wrong place.

I very recently purchased a 6D (just the other day) & I was taking some shots last night, using it for the first time with a wireless shutter release, (operateing it remotely). For some reason the metal clip or bracket that retains the focus screen wasnt properly secured (clicked in place), my camera burst of a couple of shots with this part resting on the mirror. I almost had heart failure when I saw what had happened! I have sinced properly clicked it back in, what should I be looking for if there is any damage to it?

Thanks for anyones help in advance!

4 REPLIES 4

TCampbell
Elite
Elite

I'm baffled as to why this wasn't clipped in.  Did you replace your focus screen?

In any case... the focus screen and mirror are technically NOT part of the image path.  When the camera takes an exposure, the mirror swings up and out of the way so that light can pass straight through the lens and onto the sensor.

It's possible you scratched your mirror or focus screen, but it should not effect your images.

Do you notice any scratches on it when you look through the camera and do all the focus points illuminate?

Tim Campbell
5D III, 5D IV, 60Da

It mustn't have been clicked in properly from purchase and slowly vibrated loose? 

The mirror looks unscratched, hopefully its OK, I think a little bit of dust has found its way in there though, I'll give it a clean and thorough look over, looking for things mentioned.

Thanks! 🙂

It sounds as if you got lucky and no actual damage was done.

Dust in there will do no harm (as mentioned previously, the mirror flips up, covering the focus screen whenever an image is made... so that dust you see won't show up in your images).