cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

lense to take family pictures

karahershley
Apprentice

I want to take a good family picture.  I have an EOS T7.  What kind of lense should I get.  I'm a beginner and I don't have budget for something high dollar.  Can you please suggest a lense

15 REPLIES 15

Tronhard
Elite
Elite

Hi and welcome to the forum:

When you say take photos of family members, are you looking at individual portraits and/or group photos?   If a group, how many people would we be looking at - I have seem family groups of up to 50 people.

The designations of lenses can be confusing, so some notes before you get going:

EF-S indicates a lens designed specifically for your type of Rebel camera.   You can also use EF lenses, but they are likely to be more expensive.  You cannot use lenses with an EF-M, RF or RF-S designation.

Lens focal lengths are measured in mm.  around 35mm for your camera is about the same as a normal viewpoint, smaller numbers are wide-angle, and larger numbers are telephoto.  For group shots you will want some kind of wide-angle capability, while for portraits some telephoto capability is best: wide angle lenses for portraits tend to distort faces if one shoots close.  I would suggest a zoom lens in the range between 15mm and 135mm to cover both possibilities.

IS designation: This means that the lens has Image Stabilization, and that helps to avoid camera shake when hand-holding the lens, especially at slower shutter speeds.

f/stop: This indicates how big a hole allows light into the camera.  That has an impact on what is in focus. As a rule of thumb, a smaller f/stop value means less things in focus, while a larger f/stop will have many more things (close-far) in focus.

For general purposes, I would suggest something like one of the following: