cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Zoom Lens Above the usual

Skippy2525
Contributor

I'm a casual/weekend photographer and have a Canon T3 Rebel camera.  I currently own the following lenses: 

1)  Canon EF 80-200  1:4.5-5.6 II

2)  Canon EF 75-300  1:4-5.6 III

3)  Canon EFS 18-55  1:3.5-5.6 IS II

4)  Canon EF 35-80  1:4-5.6 III

I enjoy taking landscape and nature photos, however I've found that even my EF 75-300 lens can't get me close enough to some of the birds and animals I've tried to photograph.  At one point, I used a 2x teleconverter, but my photos didn't seem very crisp. 

So, I'm looking to purchase a longer lens and am willing to pay a little more for a quality lens that will get me in closer. 

Should I go with a fixed focal length lens?  Or, a variable with a longer focal point? 

Any suggestions as to which lens/lenses I shoud consider?

Thanks for any help you can give me!

18 REPLIES 18

"But I don't think any of those lenses raise a comparable issue."

I agree but who knows?  The comparison of the Strad to these lenses is somewhat missing, though.  They never made a better violin than the old Strads but they do make light years better lenses than the ones the OP has.

" I'm not ready to part with them yet for sentimental reasons."  If this is true the OP needs to save a bit longer. And these lenses need to be put in a special place and kept as they are.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

A little story as why I said what I did.  My dad bought two Nikon F cameras while he was in Japan.  He left one on the top of his Toyota and drove off with it there.  No need to go further with that story!  The other he left to me.  I used it for whatever reason, it made me feel close or something, who knows?  Anyway it got stolen a while ago, matter of fact quite a while ago. I still wish I had not used that camera.

EB

@RobertTheFat wrote:

@Tronhard wrote:

@ebiggs1 wrote: