cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SIgma 150-600 Contemporary or Sport: Good fit?

A_Random_Dude
Enthusiast

Hi there. I'm a hobbyist, happy to stay with my DSLRs (1DX Mk III, 7D Mk II, 20D, and 300D) and a selection of decent (almost all Canon) lenses. I'm not interested in moving to mirrorless, since my kit is all in good shape and will probably last longer than I will.

I recently picked up a Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6 IS USM L II, and I've liked what I've seen with some preliminary testing. My lens wish list now only includes a 500mm. and I've been looking at the Sigma 100-600. It seems like a good tool, and it's available at a reasonable price point. I'm wondering if anyone out there has experience using that lens with either the 1DX or the 7D. I'd really be interested in hearing (reading) your comments.

Thanks in advance!

300D, 20D, 7D Mk II, 1DX Mk III, R6 Mk II, a few decent lenses, and plenty of questions. Also, a fair amount of impatience to get my hands on the 200-800 RF…
21 REPLIES 21

Thanks for that info! Honestly, you know what I use my tripod for mainly? Pictures of the full moon! Nearly everything else I do is handheld. Sometimes I will sit down and use one of my knees as a base to hold things steady. I'm not quite of your vintage yet, having just turned 60 a couple of months ago (and I'm just not quite sure how that happened!).

300D, 20D, 7D Mk II, 1DX Mk III, R6 Mk II, a few decent lenses, and plenty of questions. Also, a fair amount of impatience to get my hands on the 200-800 RF…

I actually rarely use a tripod at all, even for moon shots, given the moon is so bright.  I have pretty much always shot hand-held from when I started shooting wildlife and would be out in the wild for a while, so a tripod was a luxury I could not afford to carry.  Using large, heavier lenses hand-held is a good incentive for doing weights, which is good for my general health.

cheers, TREVOR