cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SIgma 150-600 Contemporary or Sport: Good fit?

A_Random_Dude
Enthusiast

Hi there. I'm a hobbyist, happy to stay with my DSLRs (1DX Mk III, 7D Mk II, 20D, and 300D) and a selection of decent (almost all Canon) lenses. I'm not interested in moving to mirrorless, since my kit is all in good shape and will probably last longer than I will.

I recently picked up a Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6 IS USM L II, and I've liked what I've seen with some preliminary testing. My lens wish list now only includes a 500mm. and I've been looking at the Sigma 100-600. It seems like a good tool, and it's available at a reasonable price point. I'm wondering if anyone out there has experience using that lens with either the 1DX or the 7D. I'd really be interested in hearing (reading) your comments.

Thanks in advance!

300D, 20D, 7D Mk II, 1DX Mk III, R6 Mk II, a few decent lenses, and plenty of questions. Also, a fair amount of impatience to get my hands on the 200-800 RF…
21 REPLIES 21

Tintype_18
Authority
Authority

I bought the contemporary; more in the budget and a bit lighter weight. IMO, it works for me.

John
Canon EOS T7; EF-S 18-55mm IS; EF 28-135mm IS; EF 75-300mm; Sigma 150-600mm DG

shadowsports
Legend
Legend

You have several options (grades) considering what you own now, and depending on your budget.  (150-600)

1.4x TC on your EF 100-400.  You'll lose a stop so you'll go from a f5.6 to f8, but the f6.3 of the Sigma c, S or Tamron v2 is basically (only) 2/3rds of a stop better.

Things sort of step up incrementally in price. 

TC > Sigma c > Tamron v2 > Sigma S

Like John I only owned the Sigma c.  It worked fine on my 6D2.  I'm sure any of the lenses would great on your 1Dx3 or 7D2.

If your situation does change, the RF 200-800 is going to be a game changer for anyone who shoots nature or wildlife with a MILC body. 

~Rick
Bay Area - CA