cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

RF70-200 f/2.8 works fine, says Canon service

dstauft
Apprentice

**Rant warning**
So,  I just got my RF70-200 f/2.8 back from Canon service for the SECOND time with this little note saying nothing is wrong with it…

I put it on my R6 body and got this: https://danielstauft.smugmug.com/Fun-Pics/Canon-Service/i-rMGf3Zr/A

so then I put it on my R6 MkII body and got this: https://danielstauft.smugmug.com/Fun-Pics/Canon-Service/i-g3CZVQ4/A

Now I’m not a pro, but I’m pretty sure that’s not supposed to happen.  The first time I sent it in, the service ticket said a control board was replaced.  The second time, as you can see, the problem could not be duplicated.  As you can also read, I requested a replacement lens - which was denied.  Canon requested that I send my bodies in for evaluation since the problem couldn’t be duplicated, which I decline since I need my bodies and neither body has ever had an issue with the five other lenses that I’ve used on them - all L glass.  The common denominator is the lens.  Who do I need to call to get this lens replaced???

IMG_1241.jpeg

Dan
Equipment: R6, R6 MKII, RF f/2.8 Trinity, RF50 f/1.2L, DJI Mini3 Pro, GoPro MAX
6 REPLIES 6

jrhoffman75
Legend
Legend

You should call the repair facility that serviced the camera and ask to speak with a supervisor.

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, Pixma TR8620a, LR Classic

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

We have no control over Canon as we are users just like you. I would do as jrh suggests but I would also be polite.

POS is not polite!🤔

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

Point taken, but for me polite stops at strike 3

Dan
Equipment: R6, R6 MKII, RF f/2.8 Trinity, RF50 f/1.2L, DJI Mini3 Pro, GoPro MAX

You know what happens at strike three - yer out!

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, Pixma TR8620a, LR Classic

March411
Rising Star