cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

RF 600MM F11 Advice

Cantrell
Enthusiast

All,

Asking for advice on the above lens. I have a EOS R10 and have been looking for a longer focal length lens than the RF 100-400MM lens that I have. I have an opportunity of buying a RF 600 MM F11 IS STM lens that has had very little use. The only prime lens that I have is a Sigma 500 MM lens. I have very little experience using prime lenses. I would be using this lens at the beach to shoot pictures of birds. Is this lens worth purchasing? Thanks in advance for your response.

6 REPLIES 6

AlexWhales
Contributor

The RF 600mm f/11 IS STM lens could be a great addition to your gear, especially for bird photography at the beach. Here are a few points to consider:

1. Reach and Portability: The 600mm focal length offers significant reach, allowing you to capture distant subjects like birds without disturbing them. Its compact and lightweight design makes it easier to handle compared to other lenses with similar focal lengths.

2. Aperture: The fixed f/11 aperture means it's not the fastest lens in low-light conditions. However, for shooting in bright outdoor environments like the beach, this shouldn't be a major issue. You might need to bump up your ISO or rely on good lighting conditions to ensure sharp shots.

3. Image Stabilization: The lens’s built-in image stabilization is a big plus, especially when shooting handheld at such a long focal length. It will help you achieve sharp images even without a tripod.

4. Prime Lens: Since you already have some experience with a prime lens (the Sigma 500mm), you’ll find that the RF 600mm will give you even more reach. However, being a prime lens, it lacks the flexibility of a zoom, so you’ll need to move around more to frame your shots.