cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS R10 Zoom lens recommendations

meill
Apprentice

Hey everyone, I recently bought the R10 with the 18-45 standard lenses and I'm looking to get a new lens with higher zoom. I'm basically torn between getting an 18-150 (and travelling with that as my only lens) or getting a 55-210 and having both with me, would love to get inputs as I'm new to this world.

I must say I'm an amateur and use it mostly to travel photography, but nothing too fancy!

3 REPLIES 3

shadowsports
Legend
Legend

Greetings,

Back when I shot APS-C, I owned the EF-S 18-135 and 55-250.  Both were exceptional performers.  If you intend to keep the 18-45, getting the RF-S 55-210 probably makes the most sense for you.  Yes this means occasional lens swaps.  The others lenses offer a combination of better performance from IQ, aperture and FL perspectives. The 18-45 is light weight and portable, but might be limiting in some situations where you just can't get get as close as you like.  It's basically a entry level starter lens. At some point, you may end up letting it go in favor of the other 2 lenses as staples, using the 18-150 as your everyday walk around optic.  

~Rick
Bay Area - CA

~R5 C (1.0.6.1) ~RF Trinity, ~RF 100 Macro, ~RF 100~400, ~RF 100~500, +RF 1.4x TC, +Canon Control Ring, BG-R10, 430EX III-RT ~DxO PhotoLab Elite ~DaVinci Resolve ~Windows11 Pro ~ImageClass MF644Cdw/MF656Cdw ~Pixel 8
~CarePaks Are Worth It

Tronhard
Elite
Elite

Hi and welcome to the forum:
Much depends on your budget and what you are prepared to carry.   As my respected colleague, Rick, has said, if you get the RF-S 18-150 you have the best all-in-one solution for travelling.   This has some benefits.

1. You don't have to pack that extra 55-200 lens and deal with the bulk and weight (even though it's not huge) but the second benefit is far more significant