cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Next Lens Options for Canon R5 (EF or RF)

regaru
Apprentice

Hi all! This is my first time posting so please let me know if I've done something wrong. I am student photographer and a Canon R5 and R6 owner. I have the RF 24-105 F4 L, RF 50mm F1.8 and EF 70-200 F2.8 ii. This setup has been amazing for me as I've transitioned into doing (semi) professional shoots more on the regular however, I have been finding myself in need want of two things: a fast (or maybe two) prime lenses (maybe a single fast-ish zoom instead?) for more creative portraiture, and a super telephoto lens (not super high-end) as i've been enjoying wildlife/bird photography a lot more but am feeling the limitations of only having 200mm. I would love your thoughts and suggestions around what to get. I have looked at the EF 100-400 ii, RF 100-400, RF 600/800mm primes and am completely lost in the fast prime/zoom lens world with all the EF choices out there! Thank you in advance!

2 REPLIES 2

Tronhard
VIP
VIP

Hi and welcome to the forum:

I have the same cameras myself and I am a wildlife photographer.  As always much depends on your budget, but making the assumption that it is enough, I will suggest two lenses to you for wildlife.  First I will say that one can never have too much focal length, but a fixed focal length lens can be challenging, as you are not always going to be in control of the shooting environment and the subject - in fact, very often not.  For that reason I have always favoured a zoom lens for this work.

Essentially, there are two lenses I would suggest, and I do so owning both.
1. RF 100-500L I IS USM.  This is a fabulous L series lens, and has dual nano-USM focusing motors, making it blazing fast to find focus.  It has excellent optical quality across the focal range.