cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Looking for input on lens purchase

Orcrone
Enthusiast

I own the Canon T4i along with three zoom lenses; the EF-S 10-22, an EF-S 18-135 STM and an EF 70-300. Canon has the EF 24-105 F4l refurbished on sale for $639.99 and I'm wondering about pulling the trigger. One concern is the three lenses have a nice amount of overlap that I would lose on the 24 mm end with thiws purchase. I'm not a professional photographer,  but I do occasionally blow up a shot and hang it on the walls.

Normally I leave my 18-135 on the camera. With the 24-105 having less reach on each end of the scale I'm concerned about how much more often I'll be changing lenses.

Are my concerns unjustified? I've never useds an L series lens before, so I'm not sure about how much of an improvement I will see. Will it offset any potential disadvantages?

Thanks

76 REPLIES 76

I want to thank everyone again for their advice. Although there are obvious differences of opinions I thought all theh advice received was valuable.

I almost pulleed the trigger on a 5D mark ii, EF 24-105 f/4L, Canon battery grip combo this afternoon. I could've purchased the combo for $1400, which seemed like a great price to me. But then I read about the comparison of the mark ii to the mark iii. I especially liked the improved auto focus of the newer model. I decided it did not make sense to purchase a camera which would leave me feling asa though I wasn't done upgrading yet. So I decided I'm still interested in the lens. Additionally I'm also looking at he 5D mark iii, but I don't need to be in a hurry. I will wait for good pieces of equipment at decent prices.

@Orcrone wrote:

I want to thank everyone again for their advice. Although there are obvious differences of opinions I thought all theh advice received was valuable.