cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help me chose the appropriate lens PLEASE - RF recos for arena photography

marsmit714
Apprentice

Hello Community!

I have had my R8 for nearly a year now and absolutely love it! However, I only have the kit lens (RF24-50mm), but I recently got into capturing horse cutting and this lens isn't cutting it anymore. I often find myself sitting too far from the action due to the arena setups to get the clean and crisp photos that I am looking for. 

I have been looking at getting the RF70-200mm f2.8 because I often find myself in low light arenas but would love the input on what everyone else would use. I am still an amateur photographer but finally found my niche that I truly enjoy capturing. 

TIA.

- Martina

9 REPLIES 9

Tronhard
VIP
VIP

If you are shooting in low light, then you definitely want that faster aperture, so the RF 70-200 f/2.8 sounds like a reasonable suggestion.  The rest is down to your placement relative to the action.

cheers, TREVOR

The mark of good photographer is not what they hold in their hand, it's what they hold in their head;
"All the variety, all the charm, all the beauty of life is made up of light and shadow", Leo Tolstoy;
"Skill in photography is acquired by practice and not by purchase" Percy W. Harris

March411
Rising Star

Welcome to the site Martina,

Very cool that you found your niche, it makes the hobby more fun.

I own the RF70-200mm f2.8 and use it mostly for indoor sports. I use it on R5 and R6 MkII bodies. Like you I find that most of the arena's are fairly dark and I need a lens that is faster, I also need the additional reach to capture images at the far end of the arena when required.

Your arena's are most likely larger then the one's I am in so shooting location is important. I tend to move around to get the best angles and use the max range of 200mm to my advantage.

Pros: