cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

F0.95 Lens For A Canon T4i?

CuriousPR
Contributor

Hello, everyone.  This is literally my first post on here.  I’m a veritable newbie, have a Canon T4i, am preparing to shoot a short film, and am wondering what the lowest f-stop I can get for a lens that would fit my Canon would be.

I saw the film  “Upstream Color”, thought it was absolutely beautifully-shot, and read that it was filmed on a Panasonic GH2 w/a lens that was f0.95 (!).  I looked online and found a “7artisans 35mm f0.95”, and a “Meike 35mm f0.95, but I don’t know if those lenses can fit a Canon T4i.

Can they?  Does anyone know of any f0.95 lens(es) that can fit or be adapted to fit on my Canon T4i?

Thanks very much in advance for all the responses.

Cheers!  🙂

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

rs-eos
Elite

Neither of those brands of lenses would work with your camera.  There would need to be something capable of using an EF (or EF-S) mount.

The fastest aperture being sold by Canon today is f/1.2 (EF 50mm f/1.2 L and EF 85mm f/1.2 L).   You can potentially rent the Canon EF 50mm f/1.0, but do know that it would produce very soft images.

The fastest lens I have used is the 50mm f/1.2L.  When mounted to my EOS C70 via the 0.71x adapter, it will gather light as an f/0.9 lens (though for depth-of-field, it still remains an f/1.2).

Finally, do note that depending upon the distance to your subjects, capturing in such wide apertures can lead to extremely narrow depth-of-field.   The EF lenses I mention above also do not have any IS in them which could futher the challenges for video.

--
Ricky

Camera: EOS 5D IV, EF 50mm f/1.2L, EF 135mm f/2L
Lighting: Profoto Lights & Modifiers

View solution in original post

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

" Does anyone know of any f0.95 lens(es) that can fit or be adapted to fit on my Canon T4i?"