cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EF lens compatibility on models beyond the EOS Rebel T5 & T6

Tko2007
Apprentice

I am a true amateur. I have a rebel t6 and t5. I mostly shoot hockey games, football, cheerleading and equestrian events. I’m going to be purchasing a 70-200 2.8 tamron lens for these events. My main question is this.

I would like to upgrade to a better canon body what is suggested? Will my existing lenses fit? 
Any information will be greatly appreciated 

thanks

10 REPLIES 10

rs-eos
Elite

What specific lenses do you already own?  And what is your budget?

Note that in terms of camera body recommendations these days, it will be the Canon R-series of cameras.  However, to use existing EF (or EF-S) lenses, you'd need an adapter.  And when it comes to third party lenses such as Tamron, there may be incompatibility issues.

--
Ricky

Camera: EOS 5D IV, EF 50mm f/1.2L, EF 135mm f/2L
Lighting: Profoto Lights & Modifiers

Tronhard
Elite
Elite

As Ricky very correctly said, it's helpful if we have some idea of budget.  Also, it would be helpful to know what other lenses you have to get an idea of how invested you are in the crop-sensor DSLR platform of which the Rebel line is an example.
Given you have decided on a lens, the Tamron is designed for both full-frame and crop-sensor DSLRs - of which you have one of the latter.  If you were looking to stay in that platform - i.e. a crop-sensor DSLR, then I would recommend the EOS 90D.
However, the movement and development is towards the Mirrorless Interchangeable Lens Cameras (MILCs) that offer more features and will allow you to develop further in the future.  The DSLR platform is not going to be developed further - the Canon EOS R range of MILCs is now where the market is moving.