cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

15-55 or 18-135?

abbeb
Apprentice

Hello, I just bought my first camera so I’m very new to the photography/videography world (canon 850d btw) and I’m confused about which lens to buy. I heard that the 15-55mm doesn’t bring out the camera’s full potential but at the same time the 18-135mm is a bit expensive and I just want to know if it’s worth the money or not.

Also what do you guys think about the 850d as a starting camera?

Thanks.

8 REPLIES 8

rs-eos
Elite
Elite

Assuming you meant to say 18-55mm rather than 15-55mm.  Anyhow, the 18-135mm would be the better lens as it would give much more options in terms of capturing subjects at further distances.

--
Ricky

Camera: EOS 5D IV, EF 50mm f/1.2L, EF 135mm f/2L
Lighting: Profoto Lights & Modifiers

Tintype_18
Authority
Authority

I have the 28-135 for a T7, E mount. I find I'm using it more than other lenses.

John
Canon EOS T7; EF-S 18-55mm IS; EF 28-135mm IS; EF 75-300mm; Sigma 150-600mm DG

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

Welcome to the Forums.  Congratulations one your camera purchase.  

If you bought a used camera, then you will want to set the top dial to “P”.  Next, you will want to go through every menu item and reset it back to factory defaults.  You want to start off with the camera in a known state, not the settings of the previous owner.

Please tell us the full model numbers of the lenses that you are considering.  THX

When discussing and referencing specific lenses, it is best to not abbreviate the model name because their have been multiple versions of zoom lenses covering the same FL, focal length, ranges over the years.  As a general rule, any Canon lens that has the letters “STM”, stepping motor, on the end of it should be a good choice.  You would also want to see the letters “IS”, Image Stabilization.