cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EF OR RF

JackieAnn
Apprentice

I’m planning on buying the R6 and my mentor wants me to buy the Ef 24-70 mm. Which is better the Ef 24-70 mm or RF 24-70 mm?  Newbie here and I need all the advice I can get! 

4 REPLIES 4

Tronhard
Elite
Elite

There are a couple of questions you need to answer, and when giving advice, we don't want to make assumptions: so bear with me.  We don't know who is your mentor, but by answering these questions you help us to bypass any influence of their own preferences and that may not fully match your needs.

1.  What is the budget - a number is important!

2.  What kinds of subject do you intend to shoot?  That has an impact on the focal length range.

3.  What do you intend to produce?  There is a big difference between the gear necessary to produce large, detailed 'Art' prints and that for small prints, digital displays or posting on-line.

I have a couple of R6 bodies and they are great full-frame cameras.

cheers, TREVOR

"The Amount of Misery expands to fill the space available"
"All the variety, all the charm, all the beauty of life is made up of light and shadow", Leo Tolstoy;
"Skill in photography is acquired by practice and not by purchase" Percy W. Harris

jaewoosong
Rising Star
Rising Star

I have both the EF and RF 24-70 (have both 5DmIV and R5).  I've tested EF and RF lenses on my R5 and the RF lens was sharper.  The RF lens also has image stabilization while the older EF version does not.  That said, the EF version is much cheaper but you'll need an EF->RF converter to mount it.

Generally, if you are starting out and buying new gear based on a mirrorless body like the R6, there is no reason to buy the older EF lenses moving forward.  I shoot more with my R5 than my 5DmIV.

-jaewoo

Rebel XT, 7D, 5Dm3, 5DmIV (current), EOS R, EOS R5 (current)

amfoto1
Authority

My thoughts (though I certainly haven't used them all)...