cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EF 50mm as a second lens for a R7 with 18-150mm Kit Lens

jomerkod
Apprentice

Ive got some important indoor events coming up and need to capture some crucial shots for a friend. The lighting will likely be quite poor (think candles and dimmed lights.)

Was wondering if getting a second hand EF 50mm f/1.8 STM was a good idea to not miss some of those shots. It will be quite cheap about 100 USD for adaptor and lens together.

Or do you think the kit will do fine. I'm a novice, but its a very important event. I've seen some threads suggesting a "nifty fifty" being a good second lens to the 18-150mm kit

6 REPLIES 6

jrhoffman75
Legend
Legend

At that price I am guessing that it is not the Canon EF-RF adapter. Folks have reported problems with the non-Canon adapters (I have no direct experience).

Set your zoom lens to 50mm and check that you can get the coverage you will need. Depending on what you will be shooting 50mm may not be wide enough.

If 50mm will work for you I suggest you get the RF 50mm f/1.8. 

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, M200, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, Pixma TR8620a, Lr Classic

shadowsports
Legend
Legend

Greetings ,

I am in agreement with John.  The RF-S 18-150 Is a great lens, but you are not going to be happy with the images shot indoors by candlelight.

If you owned EF glass, then buying an adapter (Canon only) might make sense.  If you're going to buy the 50mm by the RF.  The difference in price is negligible and it's best to stay native when possible.

A 50mm f1.8 can do pretty well indoors in low light. On a crop sensor body. It will give you a field of view equivalent of 80mm.  How far are you going to be from your subjects?  Since it's a prime, you will need to use your feet to compose your pictures.  If you have clear line of sight to your subjects, a tripod might be a good idea too 

~Rick
Bay Area - CA