cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EF 24-105 f/4L IS USM compared to the EF 24-70 f/2.8L II USM

adam_mateo_
Contributor
I've bought the EOS 7D Mark II and I've been stuck as to which lens to buy, it's between the EF 24-105 f/4L IS USM and the EF 24-70 f/2.8L II USM. I like that the f/4L has a stabilizer, and the f/2.8L seems to be more durable but what purpose does each lens serve? Which would you buy, please provide your reasoning. (Yes, I am an amateur, this is my first camera and lens but I'll be utilizing my equipment when I go off to college and take some classes. For now, I'm using the lens for when I go to France and Spain this summer)
20 REPLIES 20

TCampbell
Elite
Elite

The 24-105 f/4 is a better general usage "walk around" lens.

The 24-70 f/2.8 can collect twice as much light (exactly twice as much when used at f/2.8).  This gives it an advantage in those situations... even though it doesn't have image stabilization and it doesn't have that extra 35mm of focal length taking it up to 105mm.   

Image Stabilization is more of a big deal when you are using long focal lengths.  As the focal length gets longer, the "angle of view" becomes narrower.  This means a very tiny amount of movement of the lens will translate into what appears to be a very BIG movement when looking through the camera.  Consequently it's more difficult to hold a camera steady enough when hand-holding a lens that has a very long focal length.

But it's actually easy to hand-hold a camera steady enough at short focal lengths.  This is why shorter focal length lenses tend to not bother with image stabilization.  It's generally not needed.