cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon 60 Lens Recommendation

bertotr
Contributor

Hi everyone,

I have a 60D which I have been using for the past 9 years. I am using it mostly for family events, travel and now my kids sports. My question is which lens is recommended for outdoor youth soccer day games. I am near the sideline. I have used the canon 55-250 STM and had some issues with lens. The major issue was the pictures were not in focus or sharp. I manually set the camera in TV mode with shutter speed 1/1000, auti ISO and aperture was dictated by the lens as it was variable. I also had it on AI Servo mode and center point focus. It may have been my error as to the reason the pictures were not in focus or sharp. What lens do you all recommend for my needs? I have no problem giving the 55-250 STM another change but would like other recommendations. I am not planning to upgrade camera anytime soon. If I do upgrade not sure if it will be another APSC or full frame. 

Thank you for your time and help.

Robert

19 REPLIES 19

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

Can you post a sample photo?

What Drive Mode are you using, One Shot or Continuous?  For action photography, you would almost certainly would want to Continuous Drive Mode and AI Servo Focusing.Mode.

I would also suggest that you enable all AF points.  Keep you subject within AF point display, and bear in mind that the camera will want to focus on the nearest subject.  The camera will continuously focus for as long as you half press the shutter, or by pressing the [AF-ON] button on the rear panel.

The 55-250mm STM lens is not the fastest focusing lens.  But, it should be fast enough for the 60D frame rate.  You are using Tv mode with ISO Auto.  I do not like to allow the camera to control 2 legs of the Exposure Triangle.  I let the camera control only 1 leg at a time.