cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

50mm STM Lens Focus Ring Won't Focus

Radiux
Apprentice

Hi everyone!

A few days ago I bought a brand new canon 50mm stm lens, which by the way takes beautiful pictures.

I practice photography as a hobbie so Im by no means an expert on lenses and cameras but something has been bothering me since I bought it:

When I set the lens to manual focus, sometimes the focus ring will not focus (camera turned on) no matter how much I move the ring. The only thing that seems to "wake it up" is half pressing the shutter and then it works as supposed... Until it happens again...

To me it seems like a power saving function, but it feels counter intuitive imho, as it makes me think that something may be wrong with the lens. 

Autofocus works fast and without any problems btw. 

Camera is also a brand New rebel t7

Any ideas? 

14 REPLIES 14

deebatman316
Authority
Authority

Hello Radiux welcome to the forum and happy holidays. I also own the EF 50mm F/1.8 STM lens. All STM and Nano USM lenses are Focus by Wire/ utilize and Electronic Focus Ring. The camera metering system MUST be active for the electronic focus ring to work. You're lens is working as designed and there isn't a problem with it. Does Manual Focus Override work correctly too. Click Here for the manual for your lens. Click Here for the manual for your camera.

Screenshot 2022-12-28 183706.png

-Demetrius

Happy Holidays

EF 16-35mm F/2.8L III USM, EF 24-70mm F/2.8L II USM, EF 28-135mm F/3.5-5.6 IS USM (Retired), EF 50 F/1.8 STM, EF 85mm F/1.8 USM & EF 70-200mm F/2.8L IS III USM

EOS 40D (Retired) & 5D Mark IV

430EX III-RT, 470EX-AI & 600EX II-RT

-Demetrius

Current Gear: EOS 5D Mark IV, EF F/2.8 Trinity, EF 50mm F/1.8 STM, EF 85mm F/1.8 USM, 470EX-AI & 600EX II-RT

Retired Gear: EOS 40D

BrianDavies
Enthusiast