cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon MG5420 Support code 1403

Lyle
Apprentice

How do I fix Canon MG5420

"Support Code 1403 print head is incorrect.

Install the correct print head"

I have been using this printer for 2 years with no problems, then all of a sudden I get "Support Code 1403"

I took out the print head cleaned it and reinstalled, still have the same problem.

Any suggestions?

12 REPLIES 12

mrfusion
Apprentice

Having the same problem.  I've double checked that the cartriges I'm replacing are exactly the same.

Salva
Apprentice

Hi, I have the same problem but my printer is mg5450

Salva
Apprentice

I think it's a problem either from design or programmed absolescence because there are many models that have it

PIE0301
Apprentice

I just received this error too. I have a MG5522. Based on everything I've read, I guess I shouldn't buy another Canon printer, even though I just bought a set of printer cartridges for $50+. My printer was over 2 years old...

Hi PIE0301,

The 1403 error is an indication that your PIXMA MG5522 does not detect the printhead or that the printhead is faulty.  Please follow these steps to try to resolve this issue:

1.  Confirm that the printer is powered on.

2.  Pull open the paper output tray.

3.  Lift the scanning unit (printer cover) completely. The print head will move to the replacement position.

4.  Open the inner cover.

5.  Remove the ink tanks by pressing the tab of each tank.

6.  Raise the print head lock lever.

7.  Tilt the print head slightly towards the front of the machine and lift out gently.

8.  Place the print head in the print head holder and lower the print head lock lever carefully until you hear a click.

9.  Insert ink tanks into the print head.

10.  Press the mark <PUSH> on the ink tank firmly until you hear a click.

11.  Ensure that all the ink tanks are installed properly and the ink tank lamps light red.