cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Camera Connect app Location information logging keeps shutting off

allenhuffman
Contributor

Background: I have been using digital cameras since 1996, but I did not start geotagging images until around 2007 (using a Sony GPS-CS1). One of the reasons I switched to Canon a few years ago was being able to Geotag using the Camera Connect app.

Unfortunately, every trip the app seems to shut off GPS logging at some point. I have to check the app regularly to make sure it is still on. My last trip, with 5100 photos taken, had a batch of about 500 with no GPS data due to the app shutting off without me noticing.

Has anyone else seen this? It has been a consistent problem for me. I always use power banks to keep my phone charge (always preventing it from going in to the 20% “low power mode”).

Normally I am out for 12+ hours so perhaps it just can’t handle extended use?

Cheers.

Takin’ digital photos since 1996. (Canon G5X, currently)
4 REPLIES 4

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

In order to help resolve your issue, the community needs a little more info and details.

What camera model are you using?  What type of phone are you using, and which OS is it running?  Which version of the Canon Connect application are you running?

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

I was unaware that there was more than one Camera Connect. It logs information, with no connection to the camera. Later, you can connect your phone to the camera via WiFi and the app will transfer GPS data to the camera, where it will embed it in the JPG images.

But the app has a toggle to Begin Logging, and it will shut itself off during the day.

I am using it for a G5X, but there is no issue there. The app itself turns off the logging. I have never had any issues connecting it to the camera.