cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DPP ** 100% useless: this new neural processing tool **

bmitra
Contributor

I use for Day to day straight DPP and publish to friends/family. I am no professional, don't need fancy tools like LS, DT, Capture One, etc. I don't do pixel peeking and hate those who do and finally not hung over some crazy stuff like "slightly soft at corners" mumbo-jumbo as long as I have a semi-professional camera and lens.

In order to further reduce the time it takes for me to process via DPP, I decided to try this new offering (pop-up keeps coming up) of this new neural processing tool.

Why crap? Well - guess what - I tried across 3 computers. Computer #1 - Intel i5 with 16 Gb RAM and a decent photo processing ($100) GPU card, computer #2  - AMD Ryzen with its in-built GPU (I use it for web surfing mostly) and computer #3 - with i7 32 Gb RAM and a GPU which satisfies my teen son playing stuff like Fortnight.

Across all 3 the message came - unable to determine your hardware meets our requirement type. I said: well, h$$$ with you. There are many products quite good, very well accepted by photography community I can use instead! To use your stuff if I have to shell out $300+ for a video card or have to upgrade my whole PC .. nah, not worth it. Especially when I don't think its benefits are that high. Oh wait... they (Canon) want to even charge (subscription fee) for it? Go figure...

5 REPLIES 5

bmitra
Contributor

BTW: I know what'll happen now. Someone will cite the URL for hardware specifications. Here it is: https://cam.start.canon/hy/S002/manual/html/UG-05_Synthetic_0080.html.

Computer #3 has i7, has 32 Gb and I confirmed with son - definitely the GPU support is there. What he says is probably needs something called high CUDA cores... go figure. And he said, looking at the specs demand he's pretty sure will significantly hog the computer.

Screenshot 2023-01-06 100351.jpg

John Hoffman
Conway, NH