cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon Power Shot SX50 HS.

GloriaS
Contributor

Hello All,

I am a new member on the message boards.  Owner of a Canon Power Shot SX50 HS.

I enjoy nature and take lots of bird, butterfly, deer, etc. shots.  Also scenery shots.  

I do not understand the setting on this camera and I only use the auto mode.  

Question:  What are the best settings (Apature and ISO) for the type of pictures I take.   Some come out sharp but lots have a blur.    Suggestions wlecome.......Thanks!

18 REPLIES 18

JimMcDonald
Contributor

I'm also an amature photographer, but I've learned that there are hardly hard and fast settings. Take a look at this to help you understand how it all works together: www.canonoutsideofauto.ca/‎  . Work towards getting out of "Auto" and have fun playing with your camera, you're goin' to get blurs, underexposed, over exposed shots, and sometimes some really great shots but the only one who makes no mistakes, is the one who does nothing, and therefore makes the biggest mistake of all! Good luck.

You may want to read this older thread & follow the links as you get more curious.

http://forums.usa.canon.com/t5/PowerShot/tutorial-for-Powershot-SX50HS/m-p/31365/highlight/true#M177...

"A skill is developed through constant practice with a passion to improve, not bought."

Thanks for your reply.

Thank you for your reply!

ssobel
Contributor

Gloria S

Go to  this you tube website  (http://www.mwest.co.za/blogg/youtbube/).  this photographer from South African has lessons on how to use this camera Canon SX 50HS.   I too had all the same problems and he gives step by step instructions on how to use it.   He is now up to episode 8 or 9.   All of the episodes are posted and he is very willing to take questions.  He is prompt and concise.  Good luck.   Pass the good word.

ssobel

Thank you so much! I will check it out.

TonyBritton
Enthusiast

Hello GloriaS,